Search

Malá Úpa Fairy-Tale Path

The educational path consists of several routes within the localities of Horní i Dolní Mala Úpa. The path introduces young and adult visitors alike to this picturesque mountain village, connected not only to the TV bedside story of Krakonoš life and work by the female writer Marie Kubátová, but also to beautiful local places and unforgettable vistas. Each of the ten stations on the path consists of a game element and a four-sided prism with a fairy-tale.

The individual stations further offer beautiful vistas of the Svorová hora mountain with Jelenka cottage, Sněžka mountain, the Lysečinský range, the Polish side of the Krkonoše Mountains, Pomezní boudy and the Dlouhý hřeben range.  The represented fairy-tales include, for example, "How poverty sneaked in to the Krkonoše Mountain", "How dresses for trees are made" and "Why mountain cottages are so picturesque".

Malá Úpa

Malá Úpa is spread along the Pomezní hřeben range following the Polish frontier. The village is unique for its preserved folk architecture. The meadow around Šímova cottage in Lví důl Valley shows all the development stages of the local cottage architecture, therefore, it has been made a national cultural monument.  The unique architecture of the place includes cottages with a typical local hay dormer, only preserved in a couple of cottages.  Two of these are situated in the picturesque historic centre of the village near the church, and three not far from the Spálený Mlýn mill. Today Malá Úpa is a major winter sports centre – for both downhill and cross-country skiing. Malá Úpa lies on the route of the Krkonoše artery connecting the western and eastern Krkonoše Mountains. In addition, the Malá Úpa territory is characterised by 9 hilltops with an elevation higher than 1,000 m above sea level.

Church of Saints Peter and Paul

The church is situated in the historic centre of the Malá Úpa municipality. The foundation of the church is connected with a visit by the then future emperor Joseph II in 1779, accompanied by the famous General Laudon. In the context of his religious policy, the future emperor had this church built for the local highlanders.  The church is one of the highest located Czech churches.

 

Spálený mlýn

The southern part of the village with the Mohornův mlýn mill, where Joseph II accompanied by General Laudon stayed on his journey in 1779. The mill later burnt down, and since that time the place has been known as Spálený mlýn. Spálený mlýn is a convenient starting and end point for walking trips. 

 

Pomezní Boudy

The Pomezní boudy cottages are situated in the valley between Smrčinná hora mountain and Lysečinská hora mountain at a height of 1,050 m above sea level. There is a border crossing to Poland here. The Pomezní Boudy cottages are the place where the Czech-Polish Friendship Path starts to continue via Sněžka to Špindlerova bouda cottage, as well as an educational path in the opposite direction, which has its first station with the fairy-tale "On the glass maker and a beet virgin" by the Cottages at the Bowling bar Schimmer.

 

 

Sněžka

The highest mountain in the Czech Republic, with the shape of a three-sided pyramid and a height of 1,602 m above sea level. The northern slopes fall on the Polish side to the Lomnička River valley and the southern slopes on the Czech side to the Obří důl Valley. The name is derived from the adjective "Sněžná" i.e. covered with snow. It is believed that Mount Sněžka was climbed for the first time by an unknown Venetian in 1456. The oldest structure on Sněžka mountain is the Chapel of St. Laurentius, built in the period 1655-1681 by the owner of the northern slopes of the Krkonoše Mountains, the Silesian aristocrat Schaffgotsch. The highest located post office in Bohemia used to be on top of Sněžka.  In 1949 a chair lift was installed from Pec pod Sněžkou.

 

Lysečinská hora

The very flat range, 1 km long and east of the Dolní Malá Úpa forms the Polish border.  At present, it is nearly deforested and the peak (1,188 m above sea level) requires a geodesic point to be found.  There is a skiing area on its western slope.  The Lysečinské boudy cottages, built in 1926, are located nearby. This used to be the location of the old trade path connecting Maršov and Albeřice with the Pomezní boudy in Malá Úpa. According to local tradition, in 1779 the path was used by the then future emperor Joseph II while travelling across the mountains. To commemorate this event, the nearby fountain, where he most probably have drank water from, was long called Kaiserborn – Imperial Fountain.

 

 


 
load